The Inforrm winter break ends today, which is the first day of the Hilary Legal Term.  This term will end on Wednesday 28 March 2018.  The highlights include a 4 week phone hacking trial and two “right to be forgotten” trials involving Google.

We are aware of the following media law cases listed for the Hilary Term. Please let us know if any of the information below is inaccurate or if we have omitted any relevant cases:

Various Claimants v News Group Newspapers, 18 January 2108, listed for 4 weeks before Mann J

Homer v Hollingworth   5 February  2018, listed for 2 days

AXB v BXA , 12 February 2018,  listed for 4 days

National Guild of Removers & Storers Ltd v Finch , 19 February  2018, listed for 5  days

NT1 v Google Inc  26 February  2018, listed for 7 days

Candy v Holyoake & anr  7 March 2018, listed for 3-4 days

NT2 v Google Inc , 12 March 2018, listed for 4 days

We are aware of one case listed in the Court of Appeal this term

Stocker v Stocker,  listed for 30 January 2018.  Grounds of appeal here [pdf] and the skeleton argument for permission to appeal here [pdf].

There are 7 media law cases awaiting Court of Appeal decisions on permission to appeal

Monroe v Hopkins (referred to a judge 9 May 2017) The Grounds of Appeal are here [pdf] and Skeleton Argument in support of Permission to Appeal here [pdf]. [Update]:  The application for permission to appeal was refused on 5 January 2018.  The 3 pages of reasons of Sharp LJ can be found here.

Guise v Shah  (referred to a judge, 27 October 2017).  The appellant’s Skeleton can be found here [pdf].  [Update]  The application for permission to appeal in this case was refused on 9 January 2018.  The reasons of Sharp LJ can be found here.

Lisle-Mainwaring v Associated Newspapers (referred to a judge, 27 October 2017) [pdf]

AlSaifi v Trinity Mirror PLC and Board of Directors and Anr

Butt v The Secretary of State for the Home Department

The Queen on the application of The News Media Association v The Press Recognition Panel and Anr

ABC (A Mother) v The Chief Constable of West Yorkshire Police