PressThe Press Recognition Panel established under the Royal Charter on self-regulation of the press, will come into existence as a legal entity on 3 November 2014 when the five initial members of the Board take up their appointments.

The appointment of the five initial members was announced today by the Commissioner for Public Appointments. The Recognition Panel’s function is to recognise press industry self- regulators in accordance with the Royal Charter. They will join David Wolfe QC, the Chair of the Board, whose appointment was announced in June 2104.

The five members are: Harry Cayton, Emma Gilpin-Jacobs, Carolyn Regan, Harry Rich and Tim Suter.  Full details of the biographies of each of the panel members can be found on the Press Recognition Panel website.

They have been appointed following a fair and open competition chaired by Dame Anne Pringle, Chair of the Appointments Committee. David Wolfe QC, Chair of the Board of the Recognition Panel, worked alongside the Appointments Committee to select the new members.

The Chair of the Board, David Wolfe, said:

“I am confident that we have appointed a diverse and high calibre group of individuals to the Board, and I very much look forward to working with Harry, Emma, Carolyn, Harry and Tim  to carry out the important functions set out in the Royal Charter.

Once the Press Recognition Panel is operational it will be able to consider and decide on applications from press self-regulatory organisations that want to be recognised as compliant with the recognition criteria in Schedule 4 of the Royal Charter. In England and Wales, that recognition will make them Approved Regulators for the purposes of sections 34-41 of the Crime and Courts Act 2013.

The Press Recognition panel is also on Twitter: @PRPanel.